Western Sydney hosts Ironman 70.3 Asia-Pacific Championship results 2017

This race featured the first ever Ironman 70.3 Asia-Pacific championship hosted in Australia.

The race began with a 1.9km swim in Penrith Lakes. It was followed by a 90km bike and a very flat and fast 21km run.

It was a who’s who of Australian male pros in the race. The big question was if someone could step up and prevent an Aussie sweep of the podium.


Ambrose, Paul
Appleton, Sam
Betten, Sam
Caird, Allister
Cochrane, Simon
Currie, Braden
Davy, James
Deak, Zsombor
Douglas, Sam
Gambles, Joe
Kerin, Lachlan
Moldan, Johannes
Montgomery, Jake
Munro, Casey
Raelert, Michael
Rea, Tim
Reed, Tim
Reithmeier, Alex
Royle, Aaron
Waddington, Ryan
Wilson, Dan

As is usually the case in a high caliber 70.3 race, there was a large group of male pros finishing the swim in tight quarters. Four of them led by Aaron Royle of Australia came in under the 24 minute mark.

Dan Wilson, Sam Appleton, and Sam Betten, all of Australia were the other three.

Joe Gambles was fastest of all on the bike course with his split of 2:02:57. It put him in contention for a podium spot as the run got underway.

However it was Dan Wilson who was strongest of all in the run with his time of 1:12:06. It was good enough to earn him top spot on the podium in the Ironman 70.3 Asia-Pacific Championship results 2017.

He crossed the line over minute in front of Second place Tim Reed. Braden Currie of New Zealand was the one to break up the Australian podium sweep with his third place finish.


Wilson, Dan      	00:23:52 02:04:23 01:12:06 03:42:12
Reed, Tim       	00:24:38 02:03:14 01:13:40 03:43:34
Currie, Braden    	00:24:48 02:03:04 01:13:40 03:43:37
Appleton, Sam     	00:23:54 02:04:11 01:14:53 03:44:50
Gambles, Joe      	00:24:56 02:02:57 01:16:37 03:46:26
Royle, Aaron      	00:23:13 02:04:43 01:17:10 03:47:12
Betten, Sam       	00:23:58 02:03:46 01:18:47 03:48:45
Raelert, Michael 	00:24:49 02:03:11 01:20:22 03:50:26
Montgomery, Jake 	00:24:30 02:03:30 01:24:18 03:54:25
Munro, Casey     	00:24:33 02:10:26 01:19:52 03:56:58
Reithmeier, Alex 	00:25:28 02:12:22 01:17:13 03:57:08
Kerin, Lachlan     	00:26:23 02:08:22 01:20:18 03:57:24
Ambrose, Paul     	00:26:26 02:08:25 01:22:06 03:59:10
Cochrane, Simon 	00:25:29 02:09:38 01:22:42 04:00:12
Rea, Tim            	00:26:24 02:11:25 01:19:49 04:00:18
Davy, James      	00:24:50 02:09:13 01:25:11 04:02:56
Waddington, Ryan 	00:27:45 02:18:22 01:15:42 04:03:58
Deak, Zsombor     	00:31:13 02:26:07 01:25:23 04:24:54

It was a very competitive field of pro women answering the starting gun. Liz Blatchford and Melissa Hauschildt were just a couple of potential favorites to land a spot on the podium in the Ironman 70.3 Asia-Pacific Championship results 2017.


Blatchford, Liz
Brandon, Lauren
Brown, Christen
Chapman, Shannon
Chura, Haley
Clarke, Rebecca
Cross, Christine
Dennis, Laura
Eberhardt, Anna
Hauschildt, Melissa
Meo, Pip
Sheedy-Ryan, Felicity
Watkinson, Amelia 

Lauren Brandon had another one of her incredibly fast swim splits with a time of 24:44. The only other pro woman under 24 minutes was Haley Chura of the USA with another excellent time of 24:49.

Much as expected, it was Melissa Hauschildt taking command on the bike course. Her time of 2:15:37 gave her the lead heading into the run.

Her run split of 1:19:03 was also fastest of the day and it earned her the victory by over a minute on felicity Sheedy-Ryan who finished in second, four minutes in front of Amelia Watkinson of New Zealand.

Once again, it was New Zealand preventing an Aussie sweep of the podium.


Hauschildt, Melissa 	00:29:51 02:15:37 01:19:03 04:07:06
Sheedy-Ryan, Felicity 	00:27:07 02:20:16 01:19:07 04:08:31
Watkinson, Amelia 	00:27:04 02:18:53 01:24:47 04:12:53
Chura, Haley      	00:24:49 02:23:46 01:25:00 04:16:07
Blatchford, Liz 	00:27:03 02:24:27 01:24:28 04:18:14
Dennis, Laura     	00:27:10 02:26:55 01:24:56 04:21:06
Brandon, Lauren 	00:24:44 02:19:27 01:36:55 04:23:31
Cross, Christine 	00:30:29 02:27:34 01:24:26 04:25:04
Brown, Christen 	00:28:07 02:25:41 01:28:59 04:25:17
Clarke, Rebecca 	00:24:55 02:28:51 01:33:17 04:30:00
Eberhardt, Anna 	00:35:49 02:26:06 01:27:26 04:31:38
Meo, Pip         	00:35:45 02:39:57 01:32:24 04:50:14
Chapman, Shannon 	00:35:50 02:38:39 01:37:30 04:54:52

These results originated on Ironman.com. Be sure to visit them for complete race results and info on upcoming WTC events.

MORE RACE RESULTS from Ironstruck.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!