Ironman 70.3 Pucon Results 2015

The Ironman 70.3 Pucon Results 2015

were the first ones posted of the new year.

On Sunday January 20 he first WTC event of 2015 was hosted by Chile and it was a sold-out field that answered the starting gun for the 1.2-mile two-loop swim in Lake Villarrica.

No doubt the pros went into the race eager to add Kona Ranking Points toward the Ironman and Ironman 70.3 Championship races set to take place in the Fall of 2015.

Age-group athletes also had the opportunity to race for 35 qualifying spots for the Ironman 70.3 Championship.

The Ironman 70.3 Championship is scheduled to take place in Salzburg, Austria and of course Kona will host the Ironman World Championship.

As the race began it looked like Luke Mackenzie, Richie Cunningham, and Igor Amorelli would be the favorites to land podium spots for the pro men. Of course they would have to contend with Felipe Barraza who finished in second place in 2014.


Ciro Violin 
Frank Silvestrin Souza 
Gastón Durán 
Roberto Rivera 
Igor Amorelli 
Felipe Barraza 
Luke Mackenzie 
Richie Cunningham 
Barrett Brandon 
Alejo Badino ARG
Benjamin Munizaga 
Felipe Van de Wyngard 
Gyovanny Marmol 
Rodrigo Sepúlveda 
Mario de Elias

The race unfolded just as one would expect.

As the lead pro men left the bike run transition it was Felipe Barraza trying to take the next step on the podium after finishing second in 2014 with Luke Mackenzie right there with him as they began the run virtually together.

However it was Richie Cunningham who seemed to have the best race plan of all.

He let the two leaders set the pace and then worked his way past Luke Mackenzie into second place behind Barraza as the runners neared the halfway point.

The lead for Barraza was forty seconds and he may have had visions of the top of the podium dancing in his head….but it was Richie Cunningham coming on strong and taking command of the race.

Richie Cunningham takes the top spot on the podium in the Ironman 70.3 Pucon results 2015 and has the distinction of being the winner of the first Official WTC race of the year.

His unofficial time brought him across the line in 03:39:32.

Felipe Barraza had an excellent showing but had to settle for second place once again. Mario de Elias passed Luke Mackenzie and was full value for taking the third spot on the podium.

For the pro women it was Katya Meyers who seemed to be the one to beat. Meyers competed in the Ironman World Championship five times and is no stranger to the podium. Madison Mackenzie and Heather Jackson also ranked highly among the pro women.

However, things are not always as they seem in Ironman racing and Heather Jackson was the only one of the three to make the podium at all.


Lauren Brandon
Heather Jackson 
Barbara Riveros 
Pamela Tastets 
Veronica Ortega 
Ewa Comander 
Bomina Baglioli 
Katya Meyers 
Kendra Goffredo 
Valentina Carvallo 
Beth Gerdes 
Mackenzie Madison

It was local favorites Barbara Riveros and Valentina Carvallo of Chile who led the way in the late stages of the bike course and much like the lead men, began the 13.1-mile run portion of the race virtually together.

However, none of the other pro women were able to catch the two leaders.

Ironman 70.3 Pucon Results 2015-

Barbara Riveros of Chile wins for the pro women

It was Riveros with a substantial lead over Carvallo late in the run and she maintained her lead right to the finish.

Barbara Riveros of Chile takes top spot on the podium in the Ironman 70.3 Pucon Results 2015. Her unoffical winning time was 04:32:05.

Carvallo held on for second place and it was Heather Jackson of the USA taking third.

Official times were not available for all finishers and may be published at a later date.

No age-group times were available at the time this post was published.


These results originated Be sure to visit the Ironmanlive website if your results are not listed here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *